国际爱乐艺术节

圣荷西世界文化遗产庆典


国际爱乐艺术节为爱乐音专暨火凤青年国乐团主办的国际文化交流活动,每年四、五月间在加州圣荷西举行。艺术节以弘扬华夏文化为宗旨,通过戏曲、音乐、曲艺、展览等艺术形式,学习信实礼让的优秀中国传统。

联合国教科文组织确立的世界非物质文化遗产及中国国务院公布的国家非物质文化遗产是艺术节主要庆典内容,昆曲、京剧、评弹、广东音乐等都是爱乐大力推广的项目。美国国家艺术基金会、加州艺术委员会、圣荷西市文化办公室、中国文广电政府部门、中国国宝级艺术家、表演团体、艺术院校的支持参与使爱乐呈现出一种多方位立体文化交流的新气象。

爱乐艺术节采取自然音响、真声表演及现场乐队,追求源于自然、表现自然、回归自然的艺术方式。艺术节主张尽量不用麦克风,因为扩音器可以掩盖演员的天赋与功夫,并会阻碍乃至降低听众的听觉能力。没有电力的年代,演员嗓音讲求“贯”,无论剧场茶楼、会馆厅堂、亭台阁榭、乃至市井集镇、山村水乡的社火喜庆,台心一人唱念真,坐立四众“贯”听明。这种人本自然的演和听,今天依旧保留在许多省市的民间活动中,也保留在欧美歌剧院及音乐厅里。爱乐期望通过艺术交流,提请社会关注在艺文活动中发挥人本能力。

爱乐真诚希望我们将不断以传统方式表演传统艺术,共同推进多方位多层次的世界文化交流。

首届国际爱乐艺术节

二0一六年四月廿八至五月七日


开幕式:吴歆雅韵-中国昆曲评弹表演艺术展

圣荷西市立学院美术厅 (照片)

中国驻旧金山总领事罗林泉、文化参赞肖夏勇、苏州市文广新局主任唐钧、圣荷西艺术委员会主席Peter Allen、圣荷西市立学院院长Dr. Byron Breland等贵宾为首届国际爱乐艺术节剪彩。

古琴评弹音乐会

圣荷西市立学院剧院 (照片)

杭州西湖琴社、中国古琴学会会长徐君跃

民间传统音乐会

圣荷西市立学院剧院 (照片)

万佛圣城培德青年国乐团

经典传统音乐

圣荷西市政府圆形大厅 (照片)

爱乐音专教师和市文化办公室官员合影

闭幕式:世界非物质文化遗产-昆曲与京剧

加利福尼亚剧院 (照片)

中国驻旧金山总领事馆文化参赞肖夏勇、王书羽夫妇和演出人员

International Aimusic Festival

UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage Celebration


Presented by Aimusic School and Firebird Youth Chinese Orchestra (FYCO), the International Aimusic Festival is held in April and May in San Jose, California. Aimusic presents Eastern traditions while emphasizing courtesy, collaboration, comity, and understanding. The school‘s mission is to use these values to nurture positive human relationships.

The Festival celebrates the World Intangible Cultural Heritage arts proclaimed by UNESCO, as well as the National Intangible Cultural Heritage arts announced by China State Council. Aimusic has promoted Kunqu, Peking, Yueju Operas, Pingtan, and Cantonese music in its first Festival, and is open to staging other traditional performing art forms recognized for their distinct Eastern aesthetics.

In addition to artistic traditions, Aimusic promotes respect for the acoustic qualities in music, and hence advocates for un-amplified sound for all performances. Electricity and technology have brought modern conveniences to daily life, yet they have alienated people from nature in many ways. In times without sound reinforcement, performers’ voices still had to reach everyone in the audience, regardless of the venue: be it a teahouse, a courtyard, or a marketplace. Audiences used to be able to hear the singing clearly even in open spaces. Natural acoustics in cultural activities have been well preserved within the countrysides of China, and in opera houses/concert halls in the Western world.  However, this mindset is hardly practiced in most commercial or professional performances. Through this international cultural exchange activity, Aimusic School wishes for all to “go green” by listening to unaltered, natural sounds.

Aimusic thanks the city of San Jose, the state of California, and the federal government for their support in the US. In China, the Municipal Cultural Bureau of Suzhou dedicated great efforts to the Festival. It was truly a unique, multifaceted international exchange activity, with contributions from the governments and individuals from both countries. We trust that all participants enjoyed lifetime benefits from this exceptional experience.

Aimusic cordially invites performing arts groups, music schools, municipal organizations, and folk arts performers to join our Festival. Presenting traditional arts in the traditional manner, our Festival brings them to the world in their original colors, and enduringly natural flavors.

1st International Aimusic Festival

April 28 – May 7, 2016


Opening Ceremony: Exhibition––Traditional Arts of Suzhou

San Jose City College Gallery (photos)

Ceremony VIP (from the left): Tang Jun, director of Suzhou Municipal Bureau of Culture; Xiao Xiayong, Cultural Consul of Consulate General of China in SF; Dr. Bryon Breland, president of San Jose City College; Luo Linquan, consul general of Consulate General of China in SF; Allen Peter, chair of San Jose Arts Commission; Wu Jiawen, performer of Suzhou City Pingtan Troupe; Xie Tan, principal of Aimusic School; Yu Zhang, artistic director of Firebird Youth Chinese Orchestra.

Guqin & Pingtan Concert

San Jose City College Theater (photos)

Guqin by Xu Junyue, president of Hangzhou West Lake Guqin Society and China Association of Guqin.

Traditional Music Concert

San Jose City College Theater (photos)

Developing Virtue Youth Chinese Orchestra from the Ten Thousand Buddha City.

Artistic Legacy of Traditional Chinese Music

San Jose City Hall Rotunda (photos)

Aimusic instructors with Cultural Affair officers of the City of San Jose.

Closing Ceremony: World Intangible Cultural Heritage Kunqu & Peking Opera

California Theater (photos)

Xiao Xiayong, Cultural Consul of Consulate General of China in SF with the Festival performers.